Inside Linfield - Faculty Resources

Faculty Assembly

The Faculty Assembly is a deliberative and legislative body empowered by the Board of Trustees to perform certain functions in the educational life of Linfield University.

2020-21 Meeting dates

All Faculty Assembly Meetings take place at 4:00 p.m. in Riley 201, with videoconference to the Peterson Hall Conference Room in Portland.

Monday, August 31, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Monday, November 2, 2020
Monday, December 7, 2020
Monday, February 8, 2021
Monday, March 8, 2021
Monday, April 12, 2021
Monday, May 10, 2021

Faculty Assembly members

All members of the Faculty Assembly are eligible to vote in the Faculty Assembly.

  • Faculty with the academic rank of Professor, Associate Professor, Assistant Professor or Instructor who hold academic-year contracts calling for at least 40% of a full work load
  • Librarians who have academic rank and whose positions call for at least 40% of a full work load as professional librarians during the academic year
  • President
  • Provost/ Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Vice President for Student Affairs
  • Dean of Faculty
  • Dean of the School of Nursing
  • Director of Online and Continuing Education
  • Director of International Programs
  • Library Director
  • Registrar

Additional ex-officio members of the Faculty Assembly may be approved by the Faculty Assembly, and shall be chosen from those offices of the University whose specified duties call for the devotion of large fractions of time to activities of a direct educational nature.

Faculty Executive Council

The Faculty Executive Council serves as liaison between university-wide groups and the faculty, as well as between administrative offices and the faculty when those groups are considering actions or the development of policies which may influence those areas of the university for which the faculty have responsibility. The Council will, as appropriate, refer those items to the proper faculty committee. The Council is responsible for reviewing decisions of Faculty Assembly committees, and forwarding issues to the full Faculty Assembly for discussion and approval when necessary.

  • Sharon Bailey Glasco, Chair
  • Amy Orr, Secretary
  • Daniel Pollack-Pelzner, Faculty Trustee
  • Jennifer Heath, Natural Sciences and Mathematics Chair
  • Morgan Torris-Hedlund, Portland Chair
  • David Sumner, Arts and Humanities Division Chair
  • Kay Livesay, Social and Behavioral Sciences Chair